The main solar battery rebate in Australia in 2026 is the federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program, which takes a discount off an eligible battery at the point of sale through small-scale technology certificates (STCs). On top of that, Western Australia offers a state rebate and no-interest loan, NSW pays a separate incentive for joining a virtual power plant, and the ACT offers low-interest loans, while most other state battery schemes have now closed.
If you are planning solar battery installation in South Australia or NSW, what you can actually claim depends on where you live, the battery’s usable capacity, your installation date and whether the product and installer meet each program’s rules. This guide sets out every scheme we found, what type of benefit it is and how to check your eligibility before you sign a quote.
We checked each program against official government sources on 23 October 2026. Rules and amounts change, so always confirm the current position before you commit.
What Solar Battery Rebates Are Available in Australia in 2026?
In short, there is one national program and a small number of state or territory programs. Here is the landscape at a glance.
- National (all states and territories): the Cheaper Home Batteries Program, a certificate-based discount that is open until 31 December 2030.
- Western Australia: the WA Residential Battery Scheme, offering a one-off rebate and a separate no-interest loan for eligible households.
- New South Wales: a Virtual Power Plant (VPP) incentive for connecting a battery to a VPP. The earlier NSW household battery installation discount is no longer available to households.
- Australian Capital Territory: the Sustainable Household Scheme, which offers loans (not rebates) that can be used for home batteries.
- South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory: no active state government battery rebate or loan for ordinary households was identified in the official sources we checked. Earlier schemes in these jurisdictions have closed.
It also helps to know what each type of benefit actually is, because installers and advertisers often call all of them “rebates”.
| Benefit type | What it means for you |
|---|---|
| Certificate-based discount | Your battery creates STCs. You usually assign them to your installer or retailer, who takes their value off your invoice. This is how the federal program works. |
| Rebate | A set amount from a government program, often applied upfront by an approved vendor. WA’s scheme works this way. |
| Loan | Money you must repay, sometimes at no or low interest. It reduces the upfront cost, not the total cost. |
| VPP incentive or reward | A payment or bill credit for letting a VPP provider use your battery. It is tied to a contract, not to buying the battery. |
| Retailer or installer discount | A private promotion. It is not a government rebate and has its own terms. |
Federal Solar Battery Incentive in 2026: The Cheaper Home Batteries Program
The Cheaper Home Batteries Program started on 1 July 2025 and runs under the Small-scale Renewable Energy Scheme. According to the Clean Energy Regulator, eligible batteries earn STCs, and you can either assign those STCs to a registered agent (usually your installer or retailer) for an upfront discount, or create and sell them yourself. For a deeper look at the rules, see our Cheaper Home Batteries Program guide.
How the discount is calculated
The number of STCs a battery creates depends on three things:
- Usable capacity: only the first 50 kWh of usable capacity counts towards STCs.
- Capacity tiers (from 1 May 2026): 100% of the STC factor applies to the first 14 kWh, 60% applies above 14 kWh up to 28 kWh, and 15% applies above 28 kWh up to 50 kWh.
- The STC factor on your installation date: this is 6.8 STCs per kWh for installations from May to December 2026, falling to 5.7 from January to June 2027, and continuing to step down every six months until 2030.
The dollar value then depends on the price you receive for each STC, which is agreed with your installer or agent. The government has set the factor to target an upfront discount of about 30%, but the result for your system depends on its size, the STC price and the installed cost.
Main eligibility rules
The Clean Energy Regulator lists these requirements for the federal battery discount:
- The battery must be new, with a nominal capacity of 5 to 100 kWh, and installed with a new or existing solar PV system of no more than 100 kW.
- It must be on the Clean Energy Council approved battery list and comply with AS/NZS 5139:2019 and local electrical safety laws.
- Grid-connected batteries must be VPP-capable. You do not have to join a VPP to get the federal discount, but the battery and the inverter it connects to must be capable of it.
- It must be installed by a Solar Accreditation Australia (SAA) accredited installer with a battery endorsement.
- Only one battery per premises (one per National Metering Identifier for grid-connected homes) is eligible, and the battery must stay at the property until the end of 2030 or the end of its warranty, whichever is later.
If you already have solar panels, you can still qualify. Existing systems can add a battery, and existing batteries can be expanded by at least 5 kWh, provided the existing battery has not already claimed STCs and the total stays at or under 100 kWh. Our guide to adding a battery to an existing solar system covers the practical side.
Solar Battery Rebates by State and Territory
This table covers all eight states and territories. Status was verified on 23 October 2026. “Not identified” means no active household battery rebate or loan appeared in the official sources we checked, not that no assistance of any kind exists.
| Scheme | State or territory | Type of benefit | Who may qualify | Main conditions | Status and official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheaper Home Batteries Program | All | Certificate-based upfront discount (STCs) | Households, small businesses and community organisations | New CEC-listed, VPP-capable battery of 5 to 100 kWh; SAA-accredited installer; one per premises | Active Clean Energy Regulator |
| Virtual Power Plant (VPP) incentive | NSW | Upfront payment, instalments or bill credit for joining a VPP | NSW households and small businesses with a battery of 2 to 50 kWh | Must use a VPP provider offering the incentive; once per NMI; amount varies by provider and contract | Active NSW Climate and Energy Action |
| NSW household battery installation discount | NSW | Installation discount | Not available to households | Household installations under the NSW scheme were suspended in 2025 when the federal program began | Closed to households |
| WA Residential Battery Scheme rebate | WA | One-off rebate, applied upfront by the vendor | Synergy and Horizon Power customers | New VPP-capable battery from the supported list; must commit to a retailer VPP product; accredited vendor | Active Energy Policy WA |
| WA no-interest battery loan | WA | No-interest loan | Households with combined annual income below $210,000 | Up to $10,000, repaid over up to 10 years; administered by Plenti | Active Energy Policy WA |
| Sustainable Household Scheme | ACT | Loan (3% interest for households; zero-interest option for eligible concession card holders) | ACT homeowners meeting scheme and lending criteria | Loans from $2,000; $20,000 maximum for new applicants from 1 July 2026; up to 10 years; free workshop required | Active ACT Climate Choices |
| Home Battery Scheme | SA | Former state subsidy | n/a | Closed to new applications | Closed No active SA state battery rebate identified |
| Solar Homes battery loans | VIC | Former interest-free loan | n/a | Solar Victoria is no longer taking applications | Closed Solar Victoria |
| Battery Booster | QLD | Former rebate | n/a | Program has closed | Closed Queensland Government |
| Energy Saver Loan Scheme | TAS | Former interest-free loan | n/a | Closed on 1 September 2025 after funding was used | Closed ReCFIT |
| Home and Business Battery Scheme | NT | Former grant | n/a | Funding fully allocated | Closed NT Government |
New South Wales
NSW households now get their battery discount from the federal program. The NSW Government’s separate VPP incentive pays you for connecting a battery to a virtual power plant. From 1 July 2026, batteries up to 50 kWh are eligible, and the upfront amount depends on the capacity you make available to the grid (up to 28 kWh), your VPP provider and your contract. The NSW Government does not publish a single fixed amount, so compare offers from several providers. Our explainer on how virtual power plants work in NSW covers the trade-offs.
South Australia
There is no active SA Government battery rebate for households. The former Home Battery Scheme has closed. Some energy retailers may offer VPP-related incentives through the state’s Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme, which lists “Virtual power plant” as an activity category, but these are retailer offers rather than government rebates, so check terms directly with the retailer. For South Australians, the federal discount is currently the main battery incentive.
Western Australia
WA is the only state with an active household battery rebate on top of the federal program. Synergy customers can receive up to $1,300 and Horizon Power customers up to $3,800. These maximums are based on 10 kWh of usable capacity, and larger batteries receive the applicable maximum. You must commit to a VPP product from your retailer, and your accredited vendor submits the application and applies the discount.
Australian Capital Territory
The ACT does not offer a battery rebate for most households, but its Sustainable Household Scheme provides loans that can cover household battery storage. The scheme page states that a 3% interest rate applies to household loans, while eligible concession card holders may access zero-interest loans of up to $10,000 through the Home Energy Support Program.
Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory
Each of these jurisdictions has had a battery program in the past, but none had an active household battery rebate or loan in the official sources checked. Solar Victoria is no longer taking battery loan applications, Queensland’s Battery Booster has closed, Tasmania’s Energy Saver Loan Scheme closed on 1 September 2025, and the NT Home and Business Battery Scheme closed after its funding was fully allocated.
Who Is Eligible for a Solar Battery Rebate?
Eligibility is set scheme by scheme, so there is no single checklist. The main differences are below.
| Factor | Federal program | NSW VPP incentive | WA rebate and loan | ACT loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who can apply | Households, small businesses, community organisations | NSW households and small businesses with a battery | Synergy or Horizon Power customers | ACT homeowners |
| Battery size | 5 to 100 kWh nominal; STCs on first 50 kWh usable | 2 to 50 kWh | Maximum rebate based on 10 kWh usable | Not size-specific |
| Solar required | Yes, new or existing PV | Not stated | Not stated on scheme page | Not stated |
| VPP | Battery must be VPP-capable | Must join a VPP | Must commit to a retailer VPP | Not stated |
| Income test | None | None | Loan only: income below $210,000 | Credit assessment; concession options |
Renters and landlords are not specifically addressed by most of these pages. If you do not own the property, check with the program administrator before relying on any benefit.
Can You Combine Federal and State Battery Incentives?
Sometimes, but never assume it. The Clean Energy Regulator advises that you may be eligible for state or territory programs as well, but that some state programs may not be eligible if you claim STCs. Here is where things stand:
- Federal program plus WA scheme: can be combined. Energy Policy WA states that its rebate is in addition to the federal program, and your vendor handles both.
- Federal program plus NSW VPP incentive: can be combined. NSW states that batteries up to 50 kWh installed under the Cheaper Home Batteries Program may be eligible for the VPP incentive.
- Federal program plus ACT loan: the scheme page does not address this. Confirm with the scheme administrator before relying on both.
- Retailer or installer promotions: these are private offers, not government rebates. Read their terms separately.
Do not add advertised maximums together to estimate your benefit. Each amount has its own conditions, and some are paid as bill credits or over time rather than upfront.
How Much Could You Receive?
For the federal program, you can estimate the number of STCs yourself. These worked examples use the tiers and the STC factor for installations from May to December 2026:
| Usable capacity | How STCs are worked out | Approximate STCs |
|---|---|---|
| 10 kWh | 10 kWh × 6.8 (100% tier) | About 68 |
| 20 kWh | (14 × 6.8) + (6 × 6.8 × 60%) | About 120 |
| 30 kWh | (14 × 6.8) + (14 × 6.8 × 60%) + (2 × 6.8 × 15%) | About 154 |
Multiply the STCs by the price your installer offers per certificate to estimate the discount. Final certificate numbers are calculated under the official rules for your specific battery, so treat these as estimates only. The same 10 kWh battery installed in January 2027 would use a factor of 5.7, which gives about 57 STCs.
For WA, the rebate is up to $1,300 (Synergy) or up to $3,800 (Horizon Power). For the NSW VPP incentive, the amount depends on your provider and contract. To see how these figures fit into the total price, read what a solar battery actually costs in Australia.
How to Check Your Eligibility and Claim the Benefit
- Identify the programs for your location. Start with the federal program, then check whether your state or territory has an active scheme using the table above.
- Read the current rules on the official page. Check the date the page was last updated.
- Confirm the battery is on the Clean Energy Council approved list and is VPP-capable, along with the inverter it connects to.
- Check your installer’s SAA accreditation and battery endorsement. For WA, the vendor must also be listed in the Plenti Vendor Directory.
- Confirm how each benefit is applied. The federal discount is usually taken off your invoice when you assign your STCs. The WA rebate is paid to your vendor. The NSW VPP incentive comes from your VPP provider.
- Ask for a written quote showing the gross price, the number of STCs and the price per STC, any state rebate, and the net amount you pay.
- Check the installation date. The federal discount is set by the STC factor on the date your battery is installed, not the date you accept the quote.
- Confirm whether incentives can be combined for your situation before you rely on the total.
- Keep your paperwork, including the quote, invoice, STC assignment form, compliance certificate and commissioning documents.
Checking eligibility is not the same as approval. A benefit is only confirmed once the relevant program, agent or vendor has processed it under the rules.
Common Solar Battery Rebate Mistakes to Avoid
- Relying on old figures. The federal STC factor changed on 1 May 2026 and falls again on 1 January 2027.
- Assuming everyone gets the same amount. Your discount depends on usable capacity, tiers, install date and STC price.
- Treating a loan as a rebate. A loan lowers the upfront cost, but you still repay it.
- Assuming any battery qualifies. The product must be on the approved list and meet the VPP-capable rules.
- Overlooking installer requirements. Federal STCs require an SAA-accredited installer with a battery endorsement.
- Adding maximums together. Advertised “up to” amounts are maximums, not guarantees.
- Moving the battery later. Under the federal rules, a battery that is moved is no longer eligible for STCs.
What Should You Check Before Buying a Battery?
Before you sign, make sure your quote shows the full price before incentives, the exact incentive amounts and how they were calculated, and the final amount you will pay. Ask whether the battery and inverter are compatible with your existing solar system and network requirements, what warranty applies, and who handles the STC paperwork. If you are still deciding whether storage makes financial sense, our guide on whether a solar battery is worth it looks at savings and payback in more detail.
Key Takeaways
- The Cheaper Home Batteries Program is the main solar battery rebate across Australia and is open until 31 December 2030.
- From 1 May 2026, the discount tapers for capacity above 14 kWh, and the STC factor is 6.8 for installations through December 2026.
- WA is the only state with an active household battery rebate; it also offers no-interest loans to eligible households.
- NSW offers a separate VPP incentive that can be combined with the federal discount for batteries up to 50 kWh.
- The ACT offers loans; SA, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and the NT have no active state battery rebate identified.
- Always confirm eligibility, combinations and installation dates before you commit.
Frequently Asked Questions
What solar battery rebates are available in Australia in 2026?
The Cheaper Home Batteries Program is available nationally and gives an upfront discount through small-scale technology certificates. Western Australia adds a state rebate and a no-interest loan for eligible households. NSW offers a separate incentive for joining a virtual power plant, and the ACT offers loans that can be used for batteries. No active household battery rebate was identified in the other states and territories as of 23 October 2026.
How does the Cheaper Home Batteries Program work?
An eligible battery creates STCs based on its usable capacity, the capacity tiers and the STC factor on the installation date. Most homeowners assign these certificates to their installer, who takes their value off the invoice. The battery must be new, approved, VPP-capable, between 5 and 100 kWh, and installed by an SAA-accredited installer with a battery endorsement.
Is there a solar battery rebate in South Australia?
There is no active SA Government battery rebate for households. The state’s earlier Home Battery Scheme has closed. South Australians can still access the federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program, and some energy retailers may offer VPP-related incentives through the Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme. These retailer offers are not government rebates, so check their terms carefully.
Can I get a home battery rebate in NSW?
NSW households get their battery discount from the federal program, as the earlier NSW household installation discount is no longer available. NSW also pays a separate incentive when you connect an eligible battery of 2 to 50 kWh to a virtual power plant. The amount varies by VPP provider and contract, so compare several offers.
Can I combine federal and state battery incentives?
In some cases. WA states its rebate is in addition to the federal program, and NSW confirms that batteries up to 50 kWh installed under the federal program may also receive its VPP incentive. The Clean Energy Regulator warns that some state programs may not be eligible if you claim STCs, so confirm with each administrator first.
Can I get the rebate if I already have solar panels?
Yes. The federal program accepts batteries installed with a new or existing solar PV system of up to 100 kW. You can also expand an existing battery by at least 5 kWh, provided the existing battery has not already claimed STCs and the total nominal capacity stays at or below 100 kWh.
Are solar battery loans the same as rebates?
No. A rebate or discount reduces what you pay, while a loan spreads the cost and must be repaid. WA offers no-interest loans of up to $10,000 to eligible households, and the ACT offers loans through its Sustainable Household Scheme. Check the interest rate, term and any fees before you apply.
Check Which Battery Incentives Apply to Your Home
Rebate rules depend on your location, battery size and installation date, so it pays to get them confirmed before you buy. If you are in South Australia or NSW, our team can talk through your installation, explain which incentives may apply and show them clearly on a written quote. Check your battery rebate eligibility and book a free consultation. Final eligibility and amounts are always determined under each program’s rules.


